Refueling: Time of Day Matters!

Refueling, is that not a lost priority in our fast-paced culture?  (Though I would profess that this culture is one that we willing embrace).

As I consider the topic of refueling, I think of conversations I have had with friends, family, colleagues and the articles I’ve read on the topic.  I wonder if an over-glorified “busy” lifestyle has led us to impeding the impact we can make because our refusal to make time to refuel.  I can say that, because I’ve been there, done that.  As a very driven instructional coach, mother, wife and friend, it’s been easy for me to say “I don’t have time.”

During LifePlan, we charted some of those activities that refuel me.  This, I was told, was different from de-stressing.  As obvious as it seems now, I never even considered whether I actually refuel myself, or just de-stress. As someone who’s always been an athlete in some capacity, I immediate thought “exercise.”  But, then, I paused and I couldn’t really say that, because exercise didn’t refuel me, which really got me thinking. As we made the chart, I had this conflict in my head.  I couldn’t verbalize it at the time, and it wasn’t until after coming home that I had my revelation: The time of day I exercise determines whether it’s de-stressing or refueling me. Because I don’t train myself to be a morning person, my exercise, in the past, had occured after work, more specifically, around 7:00 at night, or after my son went to sleep, closer to 8 pm.  By that time, I was tapped out. It was not refueling.

A week after LifePlan, I began exercising in the morning. What a difference! It IS refueling me now. And, it’s a priority.  And, I can do in the quiet early morning (which my introversion needs), and I’m more mentally ready to take it on (because exercise is just as much mental as it is physical).  I finish my exercise now and I’m ready to take on the day where as before, I would dread exercise (yes, even with me being an athlete).

This is one of the smallest, yet most significant, revelations post LifePlan.

What recharges you?  Does the time of day you do it determine whether it recharges or de-stresses you?

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today!

Posted on June 18, 2015, in Refueling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

