It’s Okay: Let Others Pour Into You

“I’ve never known a truly successful person who didn’t allow others to pour into them.”

Joel, a member of Chris’s team, tweeted this out a few months ago. They were powerful words for me.

If you looked at my Before LifePlan page, you’ll see things were actually going pretty good for me. Which made it obvious to me: the only person holding me back was me.

I’ve always used this as guiding belief.  In order to get out of poverty and unhealthy relationships, I had to.

With that said, it still irked me that I couldn’t figure out my “why.”  Why did I have a feeling of discontent?  Why was I so freakin’ hard on myself?  In all reality (despite what I thought), I wasn’t failing.  Was I struggling outwardly?  No.  Inwardly, yes.  Not being able to figure out why, was the part that ticked me off the most.

As explained in a previous post about listening, I attempted to “listen” to what life was telling me. I saw Joel’s tweet.

I paused.

That really was true, wasn’t it?!

I had navigated through life on my own, with the exception of some powerful, yet very brief, moments with mentors. Mentors who came and went, unfortunately.

I relied on my husband, but he doesn’t have all my answers.

I needed someone else.  I needed someone to pour into me.  And, that was okay.

That’s what they do during LifePlan.  I’m very much an observer of people and as much as I knew those two days were about me, I also watched my facilitator pour energy, thought and time into me.  I never mentioned it, but I saw him tire throughout the two days.  But, that’s because they believe in what they do at LifePlan.  They pour everything into you for two powerful days.

And, in those two days, I found some of my answers.

Other answers, came afterwards.

But, without allowing someone else to pour into me, I guarantee you, I would still be discontent.

But, instead, I’m living my best life possible.

Can you take the leap?  Can you let someone pour into you?  Are you ready to live your best life possible? 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today!

Posted on June 23, 2015, in Before LifePlan, Emotions, The why and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. It’s so rare to see people take responsibility for their lives. I get so happy when I hear it though, even people I don’t know. Congrats 🙂 And also I love your philosophy here: listen to people and learn from them. Awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Daniel. I think there are lots of reasons people may not, likely tied to their root system. Yes, there’s so much to learn from others. The answers we need can be found somewhere, whether it be within ourselves, in a conversation, or in today’s age, in coaching, even in a tweet! We just have to be willing to listen, discover and learn.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Can I send you a copy of my eBook? I think you would like it. I can email it to you. Let me know 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

