Listening to Find My Answers

Listening is a  lost art. 

Not only listening to others and to yourself, but listening to what life is telling you.

Prior to LifePlan, I debated for weeks whether to go through with it. (Thanks goodness Chris Locurto’s team is patient!)

I tend to overthink….a lot.  As I pondered the LifePlan decision and caught myself overthinking, I would try to consciously stop and just listen….

Listen to what life was telling me via golden nuggets in books, from my past, on Twitter, on podcasts….everywhere.  I really believe that when I listen, I gain so much perspective.

Here are some quotes/tweets/thoughts that I heard and reflected on as I considered LifePlan.  I could go through each one and explain their impact, but instead, I think I’ll let them stand alone.  Perhaps they’ll speak to you.

“Before I can tell my life what I want to do with it, I must listen to my life tell me who I am.”

~ Parker Palmer (Jeff Goins, The Art of Work)

“If how you see yourself is tied to how others see you, you’ll never truly know yourself.”  

~ Joel Fortner tweet

“I’ve never known a truly successful person who didn’t allow others to pour into them.”

~ Joel Fortner tweet

“When you allow others to define you, you’ll never know you.”

~ Joel Fortner tweet

“Don’t let success define you, it’s fleeting. Realize you’re good enough right now.”

~ Joel Fortner tweet

“What we don’t see in ourselves can hold us back from success.”

~ Joel Fortner tweet

“Nobody ever reached success alone. A wise person understands the need of others.”

~ Chris Locurto tweet

“There’s nothing you can’t do, if you set your mind to it.”

~ my high school softball coach

“Your life is a gift. Do what matters.”

~ Michael Hyatt

“Live like no one else so one day you can live like no one else.” (Said in reference to money, but I apply it to all areas of my life.)

~ Dave Ramsey

“Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.”

~ Winston Churchill

“Be who you were born to be, not who you’ve allowed yourself to be.”

~ Glenn Beck

What’s your life telling you? Are you listening?

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today!

Posted on June 23, 2015, in Before LifePlan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

