The Magic Happens in the Conversation

The answers are somewhere, oftentimes in the pages of a book, but not always. 

I’ve been a reader for all my life.  As Dan Miller says, the pages of a book can be your mentor.

Books have profoundly impacted my life. Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom helped me move past the death of my grandmother, the only person in my early childhood who said “I am proud of you.” The 360 Degree Leader by John Maxwell introduced and guided me through mid-level leadership. Undone: A Story of Making Peace with an Unexpected Life by Michele Cushatt has reminded me of the beauty that exists in life despite the day to day, and sometimes lengthy, struggles we have.

I could go on and on about how books have impacted me.

But, books would not have done what LifePlan did for me….it revealed my root system and its grasp it had on me.

How did this happen? It was in the conversation…the conversation with my facilitator. It was through his graceful questioning.  It was through he and I mapping out my life on chart paper and him asking “why.”  It was through him saying “I’m seeing a pattern in how you communicate and what you say.”  It was through his challenging my premise of “This is just who I am.” It was through the grace the conversation was led with–grace that was modeled, which allowed me to give grace to myself.  It was through him saying “You do realize, that you do impact people beyond the current generation now, right?” It was through him saying “You trust me, right?”

“Magic” happened in that LifePlan room.  It never would have happened in the pages of a book, or for that matter, in the endless podcasts I listen to.

Sometimes, you just have to let someone else, someone outside of your life, reveal the light.

Consider LifePlan.  Be willing to trust the process, have the conversation and find what’s holding you back.

 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today!

Posted on June 26, 2015, in Continued Growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

