LifePlan: An Awakening

 

“Every teacher has the capacity to be a leader in some way.”

In my third year of teaching, this is what my principal told me in a heart-to-heart as I contemplated my career path.  I was very intrigued by leadership.

Five  years into my teaching career, I took a leadership role and was handed the book Awakening the Sleeping Giant by Marilyn H. Katzenmeyer.  This book verified for me what I knew…that there was a leader inside of me that needed to be cultivated….to be guided…to be developed. It literally awakened the leader inside of me.  What I did after that, how I capitalized on the guidance that was given to me, was completely in my hands. It was my responsibility.

After LifePlan is an interesting sort of thing.  Two long days of intense conversation, digging into the depths of your life (aka, your root system) and finding the “why” of who you are…was powerful.  It was another awakening, in ways I cannot even begin to describe.

But then you leave.  And that’s an odd feeling.

If you’re like me, you go through a ton of emotions (and I’m a pretty even-keeled person). After I went through that post 24-36 hours, I was left with knowing I leaned on my facilitator during those two days….we walked the journey together.  But, Post LifePlan, it’s up to me.

Luckily, I’m a learner….a reader…a podcast listener…an observer.  LifePlan lasted two days, but the implementation period, is crucial.  Because without that follow-through, the impact LifePlan has lessens.  The potential I have to live my best life, lessens.

So, for today, the learning continued with an Entreleadership podcast, entitled “Breaking Bad Habits with Gretchen Rubin.” There’s so many golden nuggets in here that I can apply to my LifePlan.  The basic premise of this podcast: you can change your life by changing your day-to-day habits.  As I reflected on this, I saw ways I had changed my daily habits to live out my LifePlan (ie, a specific early morning exercise routine six days a week.)  I also saw ways that I was not changing my daily habits.  A gentle reminder…it’s up to me. And, if success isn’t happening in a particular area, I can change that, likely with a daily habit.

So, the daily learning will continue via books, podcasts, conversations, etc. Because the awakening (as life-changing as it was) wasn’t enough. The follow-through and daily habits are key.

LifePlan was an awakening. What I do with it, is up to me. 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today!

Posted on June 29, 2015, in Continued Growth, Post LifePlan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

