Celebrating 10 Years: Legacy Matters

Legacy matters. 

As I listened to Chris’s podcast with Michele Cushatt today, I reflected on so much in my life. The whole podcast was powerful, but the last seven minutes….WOW!  The most powerful line “What’s the footprint you’re going to leave behind?”  She goes on to say “We are so desperate to make an impression and leave a mark on this world, and yet the ways we’re going about it seem so contrary to what we say really matters.”

On my goodness, that was me. I have been the one who worked 70 hours a week.  I have been the one where my self worth took a knock because I wasn’t achieving in my career, at least according to my standards.

I sought out LifePlan because I wasn’t completely content and I thought so much of it had to do with not knowing my exact career path….not know if I was being a good steward with the talents I was given. But, I needed something so much more than that.

LifePlan will  allow me to build my legacy like I never could before.

My husband and I are celebrating 10 years of marriage today. I have spent so much time building my career because I felt like that was where I could impact the most people…where I could leave a lasting impression.  I can and I have done that in my career, but I am so thankful for where I am at right now–with a focus on creating a legacy not just in my career, but with my family.  Marriage is not easy and I have neglected it too much.  So much so that if it were to continue, the legacy I would leave would be lacking.  LifePlan allowed me to see that.

So, to my husband I say this: We’ll continue to build a legacy in our career, because that’s just who we are.  But, at the end of the day, the most important legacy I care about is the one I leave in the hearts of my family.  Let’s build it.

What’s your legacy look like? 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today!

Posted on July 1, 2015, in Before LifePlan, Post LifePlan, The why and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

