Coaches and Principals: Are You Coached?

Coached

When we care enough to build ourselves, we quietly give others the opportunity to do the same!

~ The Journey Principles Book by Stephen Scoggins

I was listening to Chris LoCurto’s podcast entitled, “The Coaching Leadership Style” with Dan Rockwell (also known as the Leadership Freak), when I heard a powerful golden nugget.  Dan and Chris discussed the importance of having a coach when you’re a coach.  As someone who is a coach and loves to be coached, this made a lot of sense.  (However, I did not yet have a coach).

It was soon after, that I was at a point where I knew I needed to gain the perspective a coach could offer me. This was for a multitude of reasons.  Among them was that I knew it would allow me to be a better coach myself.

This summer, my life was literally transformed as I went through a two-day LifePlan event with a coach.  It was during and after this event that that podcast I listened to several months before hit home.  The progress I made in those two days and thereafter….immeasurable for myself. I won’t expand on that as it is chronicled in this blog.

My growth excites me, but what excites just as much is the growth I can now facilitate in others because I was coached. There are so many aspects to this, but I’ll just discuss one.  Grace.

LifePlan was successful because my coach exhibited grace like nobody I’ve ever experienced.  No judgments were made with past mistakes, my current struggles or any aspect of myself that hinted at immaturity or ignorance.  This grace allowed so much.  See this post for some of those things.   Among the most important, was openness and growth.

Because that grace was extended to me, I can now extend more grace to the colleagues I work with.  I had so many things in my root system that were holding me back that I had no clue about.  Everybody does.  I don’t always know what holds some teachers back from wanting to improve, but I do know there’s a reason that causes it that they may not even understand. I can now give them grace like I never could before.

And, the only way to truly get this is to go through LifePlan with Chris LoCurto’s company.  And, this brings me back to the original point of this post.  To be a great coach (and/or principal), you need to be coached by someone else.  And, the real power in this is the quote at the beginning of this post.  By you becoming the best you possible, it’s going to allow those you coach to grow more.

Coaches, principals, anyone in leadership, consider this.

Here’s a place to start: Your LifePlan Questions Answered 

 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today!

Posted on July 7, 2015, in awakening the sleeping giant, Chris Locurto, Continued Growth, leadership, Post LifePlan, success and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

