Courage to be Different

Courage to be Different

For me, courage is supreme of all core values.

I can’t speak to any other time in history, but in our current society, it’s paramount because so much in our society says we should do “x” often times at the expense of what is best for us.

After listening to Michael Hyatt’s podcast entitled “How to Achieve More by Sleeping More,”  I began to write a post about sleep, particularly since there was one night I didn’t get much sleep this week and my mental, emotional and physical health didn’t even compare to the rest of the week.  I wrote the post, then thought, “the message here is bigger than sleep.  The message is about courage.”

As Hyatt talks about in the podcast, I hear conversations almost daily of people talking….really bragging about their lack of sleep, as if it’s a badge of honor.  People even say to them “You’re amazing! I couldn’t go on four hours of sleep.”

Let’s have courage in the face of this cultural acceptance of lack of sleep and instead look at those who are disciplined with their sleep and thus more productive and happier and say to them “You’re amazing.  I can do that, too.”

Does this take courage?  Sure it does, because it’s going against the norm, the cultural norm.

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not on a pedestal here. I am the wife of someone who owns their own business.  I have a three-year-old son. And, I work full time as well.  I don’t always get my sleep.

And, there will be seasons in your life where it’s necessary that you go without sleep.  The goal is to not make that your norm.

Following LifePlan, I made it more of a priority and it has opened up doors like crazy.  I am able to maintain emotional stability when things get stressful at home. I am able to exercise more effectively.  I am able to be a more productive worker.   And, I am happier.

A sobering fact was shared in Hyatt’s podcast.  A research study showed that people who only got 6 hours of sleep for two weeks,  functioned at the same level of impairment as someone who is legally drunk.

“We act like sleep is a luxury or an indulgence. As a result, sacrificing sleep in the name of productivity has become routine. But the opposite is true. Cheating our sleep is like maxing out our credit cards. There’s a benefit now (at least it feels like it), but the bill always comes due in the form of decreased health and mental ability.”

~ Michael Hyatt

Have courage.  Be different.  Take care of yourself. Watch your achievement soar and, more importantly, your health and relationships be given the priority they deserve. 

I

 

 

 

 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today!

Posted on July 9, 2015, in Continued Growth, Emotions, exercise, habits, personal responsibility, Post LifePlan, refuel, Refueling, success and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

