Change the Paradigm: A Life Well Lived

Change the Paradigm A Life Well Lived

 

“I want a life well lived.” 

I said that multiple times in LifePlan.

I’ve always intellectually known that this meant success in multiple areas: career, family, personal, health, spiritual, etc.

My introverted tendencies and introspective personality has allowed me to grow in all those areas. However, my focus has weighed heavily in career. (Partly due to my root system).

It wasn’t until after LifePlan that I am truly living out A Life Well Lived, with a focus on all areas of my life. Refocusing on health, parenting, being a wife and spiritual life has brought me such peace, focus and motivation. It just feels right. That doesn’t mean I won’t continue to work hard (work ethic is one of my core values) in my career, but it just won’t be at the expense of the rest of my life.

But, what has taught me this lesson just as much is some of the conversations I’ve had with others when talking about LifePlan.  I found the responses I got from others interesting as I shared with them that I was going to do LifePlan.  It was as if they didn’t know how to respond.  And, honestly, part of me hesitated to share, because most people don’t do things like this….because that’s not our culture.

Our current societal paradigm has us spending, on average, a cost of $30,000 and $120,000 for a master’s degree.  We do this because this is what the “successful” people do, right?  We do it so we can “move ahead.”  While I’m not here to dispute the advantages of a master’s degree (I have one, too),  I do believe a paradigm shift is in order if we really consider what a life well lived means.

Why do we hesitate to spend money in other areas of self-improvement?  (And, that’s me included. I flip-flopped on the decision to do LifePlan for months).  Why do we hesitate to invest in even $100 for a few sessions with a marriage counselor?  Why do we hesitate to improve our emotional intelligence so that we can be a better model of that for our kids?  Why do we pause when considering spending money that will bring perspective to our spiritual life?  Because when we’re on our deathbed: surely our thoughts would be filled with our loved ones and our spiritual beliefs.

LifePlan is an investment, an emotional investment. A life investment. A financial investment. But don’t let our current societal paradigm on the topic stop you from taking this leap and changing your life forever. Because, the cost of LifePlan is nothing compared to a master’s degree.

And I’m here to tell you, LifePlan has far outweighed the impact on my life as compared to my master’s degree.

This paradigm shift is one that came alive for me in LifePlan.  As Matt Ham says, your whole life matters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today.

Posted on July 10, 2015, in Before LifePlan, Continued Growth, family, leadership, Life Purpose, parenting, Post LifePlan, success, The why and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. How much would it cost to do LifePlan? I am currently doing a coaching program though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The cost varies. Go to the site below to inquire. They’re great to work with. Even if you’re already going through coaching, it wouldn’t hurt to go ahead and inquire with these guys. They do phenomenal work! Best wishes on your journey!

    http://chrislocurto.com/lifeplan/

    Like

  1. Pingback: LifePlan Implementation: Truths, Habits and Actions | LifePlan Reflections

Leave a Reply

