Defining Achievement: Part 2

Achievement path

One of the biggest revelations I had during LifePlan was that I got my self worth from achievement. What I’ve realized now is I have to figure out what achievement means to me.

The previous post, Defining Achievement, Part 1, began my journey in defining what achievement means to me.

I had an idea swirling around in my head for part 2.  There were two parts to it:

1) Achievement isn’t what society/culture tells me it is.

2). My definition of achievement in the past may have worked for me, but it doesn’t have to be my definition now.

I re-listened to Christy Wright’s video message about life balance.  I heard something there….something that’s leading me to my definition.

She described what she believed “life balance” to be:

1. Being 100% present

2. Living from your values

3. Living a life that is reflective of what matters to you

One of the most powerful statements she said: Put your time, money and energy in the places that matter to you, because trying to keep up with the demands others have for you will lead to inconsistencies in your life. Then, you’ll be frustrated and bitter.

How many of us do that?  I know I did in my yearning for achievement.  I felt such a pressure to do more, give more, work hours after hours at the expense of my health, my family and my values.

So, I’ve learned to say no this summer. In all honesty, are there times I still feel guilty?  Sure. Because I’m in a transition of living in a way where I allowed culture to determine what and how much I should do; And now,  I am deciding.  That’s a big jump.  Don’t get me wrong though. I allowed that to happen. I’m not pointing my fingers at others, but I do think this is a challenging aspect to our culture, especially if you are someone driven to succeed in work life. I’m also not saying you don’t have to work hard; work ethic is one of my top values.  (I would venture to say I’ve worked more this summer than others. I’m just saying I proactively decide the amount of work I do and where I devote my energies. The result: I am happier.

So, in an attempt to further define achievement, could I say this?  Achievement is not jumping from accomplishment to accomplishment.  It is not letting guilt get to me because I choose to say no to some aspect of my life and yes to another.  Achievement is me being true to myself, living by my values and life purpose (as was outlined in LifePlan). It is being present where ever I am. (Something I struggled with a bit in LifePlan–I was overly concerned with the time and making progress during the event.  So many times, my LifePlan facilitator said: “The only thing that matters is the conversation right now.”)

Achievement is living a life that is reflective of what matters to me.  I wasn’t doing that FULLY prior to LifePlan. 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today!

Posted on July 16, 2015, in awakening the sleeping giant, Before LifePlan, Continued Growth, During LifePlan, Goals, leadership, Life Purpose, Post LifePlan, Self Worth, success, The why and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

