Gift of Grace

roots

Perhaps to extend grace to someone, we need to consider not only what we don’t about them, but what they don’t know about themselves. 

In a previous post, entitled “What Grace Allows,” we explored some of the things grace allows. LifePlan with Chris LoCurto’s company profoundly impacted me because grace was extended.  And because of that experience, I’ve been able to reap the benefits of perspective, self-awareness and learning.

And, just as importantly, it is allowing me to give that same grace to others.  This has me thinking, what are some ways we can proactively extend grace?  Is it as easy as saying we should?  I don’t think so.  If so, there would be more grace extended to people.  (I hear a lack of it in the grocery store, over lunch at work, with family, friends and colleagues.  I even fail to extend it in heated discussions with my husband).

We know this old adage:  Before you criticize, walk a mile in someone’s shoes.

Sure, we know this, but do we REALLY do it?

Does extending grace go deeper than that? It  does.

It’s called someone’s root system.

What’s your root system?  This podcast outlines it for you.  (Seriously, if you have not listened to this podcast, put a pause on reading this post and listen. It is powerful).

The “what” of my root system included poverty, dysfunction and an absentee father, all of which I had moved past emotionally, mentally and financially.  However, LifePlan showed me how it still affected me, without realizing it.  Why was I hyper focused on achievement?  Why was I hard on myself?  Why was I stuck?  Why did I feel guilty because I wasn’t a good enough coach, mother, wife, and athlete?  Because of my root system.

Every single person not only has a past, but a root system that impacts them every day.  It determines how they make decisions, how they communicate, what type of mindset they have, etc.  The list goes on and on.  Their behavior is not just attributed to the “what” of their past, but them understanding the why behind who they are.

This root system and  “the why” is something I had the privilege of working through.  Not everyone has.

This has made it easier to extend grace.  Before I interact with someone, that is honestly in the forefront of my mind.  I just don’t know their past and they don’t even know how their root system affects them.

If you’re interested in seeing how your root system profoundly affects you and every relationship you have, first take a listen to the podcast above.  If it speaks to you, consider checking into the work of Chris LoCurto and his team.

The beauty of LifePlan is it changes your life, but it also helps you positively impact the lives of others.  One of those ways, is by extending grace like you never have before.

 

 

 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today!

Posted on July 21, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

