Connect, Gain Perspective, Grow

Connect, Gain Perspective, Grow

“Life is change. Growth is optional.” ~Karen Kaiser Clark

This was one of the quotes I put in my senior autobiography our high school English teacher asked us to write. I’ve always used this belief as a foundation on which to build my life.

As I was reflecting today over the last 4-5 years, and particularly this last year, I am amazed at the opportunities for growth that came about in my life because of technological advances in our society.

I’ve wondered why mentors came in an out of my life and honestly, it has bothered me at times. With the lack of parental presence in my life, I learned to become independent at a young age. I was able to find mentors through athletics and my work.

As my life took a different path, I had to fill my yearning for wisdom and perspective elsewhere.

Books were the next logical progression.  These writers were my mentors, so to speak. Books like Tuesdays with Morrie, The Five Dysfunctions of a Team, The Traveler’s Gift, Quiet and Awakening the Sleeping Giant (among many others) became guides for my life.

Then, technology advancements brought me podcasts (ie, Michael Hyatt, Dan Miller, Andy Andrews, Entreleadership, Chris LoCurto). From these podcasts I can get daily inspirations and perspective from those who have walked paths I haven’t yet walked, but will.  They provide answers from people who are passionate about helping others.

It was a podcast that led me to the doors in Franklin, TN where my life would be significantly changed as I took part in Chris LoCurto’s LifePlan event.

And, Twitter allows me to connect (on some level) to others who have a story and a message that provides further perspective.  It’s no exaggeration to say that there are days that the tweets I see coming from people like Joel Fortner, Chris LoCurto and Bruce Van Horn are exactly what I need to “hear” to wake me up. See this post for some of those tweets.

And recently blogs posts from Matt Ham have played a role in my life.

And, all this technology has given me the opportunity to have short conversations with people who can add value to my life.  People I never would have been able to connect with before.

We are all connected more than we ever have been before.  One person’a journey can now significantly impact another’s journey.  Of course, we had that before technology, but the opportunities for it now are only limited by those that don’t engage.

And, you don’t have to be an established coach or thought leader with a tribe.  You just have to have a message a story or a yearning to choose growth.   We all struggle.  We all have the opportunity to overcome.  We all have a story.  Now, more than ever, we have the opportunity to overcome.

Connect, because we are all stronger by sharing our message and gaining perspective through our own life and the lives of others.

I encourage you to click on one of the resources in this post or seek out your own.  These are just ones that have impacted me.

Find someone who has  a message that resonates with you and connect, engage, learn and grow.  Or, even consider sharing your own story. Don’t discount the power your story can have on someone else’s life. 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today!

Posted on July 24, 2015, in awakening the sleeping giant, Before LifePlan, Chris Locurto, Continued Growth, Entreleadership, Katzenmeyer, leadership, Life Purpose, Post LifePlan, success, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

