The Next Five Minutes

5 minutes

“Don’t worry about step 2 or step 222, worry about step 1. What is the next right thing you feel like you’re supposed to do?” ~ Matt Ham

One of my key strengths is listening.  Typically, it’s in regard to conversation, but today it’s in regard to listening to one’s life.  When I first read about listening to your life in Jeff Goins’s book The Art of Work, it really stood out to me. I instantly knew that’s what I needed to do.

What does it mean to listen to your life? That’s a question that could be a post in itself, but for today, it specifically means listening to those statements, oftentimes singular, but powerful statements, that are said to you that could profoundly change your life.

The statement above about focusing on just the next step is one of those statements.

The summer has brought a lot of contemplation about the future. So much so that I consistently awake in the middle of the night. I’ve never been one to do this. I wake with nothing specific on my mind, which causes me confusion as to why I keep awakening. I do think it’s in regard to the future, the enormity of it, what I want and need it to be, the possibilities that exist and the actions I need to take.

Thoughts like that can be both invigorating, but overwhelming.  Thoughts like this:

1) I want a marriage that is solid, strong and one that builds each of us up so much that we can them help one another, our kids and others.

2) I want to significant impact others so that they can live their best life.

3) I want to seize every moment with my son because I know the moment he is little is brief and precious.

4) I want to give all that I need to, all that I’m supposed to, before I die.

Though I think it’s important to take on those thoughts, it can cause us to lose sight of the next five minutes.

Take a listen to this podcast with Matt Ham and Robert D. Smith.  Robert speaks about it in a way that one can’t help but listen to.

Here’s what I believe: If we apply this concept every day, all these small moments will lead to those big moments in life we want to accomplish.  In fact, I would argue, it’s those small moments we need to celebrate because that’s when the change happens. That’s when we affect lives.  That’s when we live our best life.

So, on my list of my “next five minutes” today, I have:

1) Awake early so that I can have reflection and refuel time.

2)  Write this post.

3) Eat a breakfast this is a good balance of protein and fiber.

4) Have a focused and intense work session tonight to prepare for delivering professional development next week.

5) Proactively make the interactions with my husband in a way that shows that I cherish him.  Choose not to let the stress of being the wife of a business owner negatively effect me.

6) Be 100% present.

7) Choose patience, love, and light-heartedness as I interact with my son.  Know that it’s not the amount of time I get with him, but the quality of the time I do.

What will you do with your next five minutes today?

 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today!

Posted on July 24, 2015, in awakening the sleeping giant, Continued Growth, exercise, family, Goals, leadership, Life Purpose, parenting, Post LifePlan, refuel, success and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

