Instructional Coaches: Let Others Pour Into You

boat 2

All successful people let others pour into them.

We all have those times in life where we look back and realize we just jumped a hurdle.  You look back in awe and realize  “that was hugely significant in my life!”  Learning that all successful people let others pour into them and living it by letting a life coach guide me was powerful beyond measure.

I’ve been an instructional coach for two years now. My first year, I had no clue what I was doing. I was making it up as I went.  And it was a position that was extremely isolating, as many coaching positions are.  My second year brought on new challenges as I entered a new district and had the opportunity to be coached to some degree.  Though the coaching I was given was limited, it was still powerful.  What I learned in the few interactions with my coach was the most important lessons I learned that year.  And, more importantly, it was during those times our students made the most progress.

Jim Knight talks about how one of the most important factors in the success of a coach is the professional development that they’re given.   If you’re an instructional coach, I cannot encourage you enough to seek out mentors.  Seek out coaches who have “been there, done that,”  because there’s few that really understand the struggles a coach goes through.  And, let me tell you, every single instructional coach has challenges that are hard to navigate through.

I’d like to highlight someone you can seek out.

kathy

Her name is Kathy Perret, an experienced teacher, coach and consultant and co-founder of the #educoach Twitter group.  I’ve had the pleasure of interacting with Kathy via Twitter.  Every conversation I have with her is one in which she is modeling growth in herself and facilitating it in others.  It’s obvious as I witness others interact with her on Twitter, that she is held in high regard.  Most importantly, she has a heart for helping others.

What should you do?

  1. Go to kathyperret.net and familiarize yourself with her philosophy and background.
  2. Peruse the options for customized coaching including initial training, on-going support, and immediate and focused virtual assistance.
  3. Don’t take my word for it, check out her testimonials.
  4. Consider the cost savings as virtual support eliminates travel expenses.
  5. Join the #educoach Twitter chat and see for yourself the community Kathy has helped build.
  6. Email her at kathyperret@gmail.com to see if she can help provide you the professional learning that all coaches need and rarely get.

Instructional coaching can be isolating.  It doesn’t have to be.  

Most of us that enter the realm of instructional coaching are not taught how to be coaches.  Reach out and build your capacity so that you can, in turn, build the capacity of others.

 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today.

Posted on July 26, 2015, in awakening the sleeping giant, Continued Growth, leadership and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thank you so much for your kind words, Annie! I love your blog. Very inspirational!

    Like

    • And, thanks for all you do to inspire, support and guide teachers and coaches! It was my pleasure to shine the light on someone who can bring so much richness to someone’s life! Keep up the good work!

      Like

  1. Pingback: My Goal is for YOU to SHINE! | Kathy Perret

Leave a Reply

