Seeking Growth? Ask Questions

Seeking Growth- Ask Questions

We live in a society of bold statements. We like bold statements.  They elicit our emotions.  They give us the perception that someone is a leader.  It can even yield group think. 

What if, instead of bold statements, we asked more questions of ourselves, of each other, and of the ideas and beliefs we hold?

Would that not allow us to grow more? Even, if we don’t agree with the answer?

I find this to be true in my work as an instructional coach.  Upon entering this field, I felt I had something to offer. I had knowledge due to my voracious reading and passion on the topic of reading and instruction.  It was my opportunity to invest in others by sharing that knowledge.

I’ve learned coaching is so much more.  In a nutshell, the most effective coaches ask questions.  It is during these conversations that those who I coach grow the most. It’s when I don’t offer them all the answers, but allow them to do the reflecting.

Wouldn’t it be quicker to just tell them what they need to know?  Sure, and sometimes the situation necessitates that.  But, are we going for quicker or more effective and lasting impact?  When I facilitate questioning in a way that allows them to have their own aha’s, the impact is permanent.  When, I tell them what they “need” to know, the impact is short-lived.

Applying this to my personal life, I would say this.  I could easily make bold statements about who I am and the beliefs that I hold.  But, there’s no growth in that, because I’m discussing the truths I already know or the truths as I currently understand them. But, if instead of that, I challenged myself with questions about my talents, my beliefs and the direction in my life, would that not lead to more growth?

For example, I could quickly say “courage” is my top core value, because it allows me to attain my other core values.  It’s a simple, yet bold statement that….stops right there.

Or, I could ask myself: How am I applying courage to my everyday life?  Did I have courage when I was challenged on a topic at work?  Did I have courage to address a difficult conversation with my husband.  Did I have courage to entertain the possibility that I could be wrong about something?  You see, it is these questions that allow growth.  Not the statements.

What questions do you need to ask yourself today?  What questions do you need to ask your team? What questions do you need to pose to your spouse?  

 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today.

Posted on August 2, 2015, in awakening the sleeping giant, Continued Growth, Goals, leadership, Life Purpose, personal responsibility and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

