Mindset Shift: I Want to Master…

Mindset Shift- I want to Master

“I want to master life.”

That’s what I told my LifePlan facilitator. As the words came out of my mouth, there was a nagging thought that said “that’s not true.”

It wasn’t until today, after reflecting on a stressful week last week, that I realized how I needed to shift that mindset.

It’s three months post-LifePlan for me. I’ve been reflecting on my the event and my LifePlan, self-assessing where I’m at. The truth is I’m flawed and some weeks I do better than others. Work demands led me to putting in a lot of hours last week, at the cost of exercise and other things that refuel me like reading and writing. We dove into a weekend with a full schedule.  Saturday night hit and I was spent.  I hit my point where stress was allowing victim thoughts to enter my thought pattern.

I intentionally did three things that changed that.

I flipped through Rory Vaden’s book, Procrastinate on Purpose. I read these words.

  1. You need to free yourself of the need to feel like you have to be everything to everyone.
  2. You have to let go of the absurd idea that you owe everyone an explanation.
  3. You have to learn to flat out Ignore certain things.
  4. If the only reason you are doing something is because you feel obligated just because someone asked you to do it–don’t do it.

I was busy at the time, in the midst of “finally” doing  duties around the house (something I had neglected throughout the week). But, I put these thoughts in the back of my head.

I listened to Michael Hyatt’s podcast, “How to Finally Achieve Work Life Balance” during an early morning run.

I was reminded of what this means to me…my belief that work life balance is living out my values.  Honesty with myself, led me to admit that I didn’t live out my values last week by neglecting being a good steward with my physical health and allowing work to consume me. (Which caused frustration with myself because in LifePlan I said my number one thing that caused me to put my breaks on in life is my health–when I’m not taking care of myself, everything suffers). Granted, there were things with work that had to be done, but I was not strategic enough in setting up my schedule in the first place.

The most important intentional move I made of the weekend….saying no to some things Sunday afternoon that were not priority (despite the fact that they felt demanding) and I retook control of my life–control I had given away. I put on my running shoes and hit the asphalt.  I came home and  prepared healthy lunches for the week.  And, I spent some time alone refueling.  Did that mean I didn’t get work done?  That is true.  But, my mindset is healthy and ready to take on the week.  And, I’m no longer a victim.

As I mowed the yard Sunday evening, it hit me. What I said in LifePlan was wrong. I don’t want to master life. I can’t control “life” as I had it defined in that statement–outside influences.

I want to master me. 

Because here’s the thing. We are human. We are flawed. We become stressed. We are challenged.  We even sometimes have to fight a victim mindset.  But, we have so much more power than we claim to.  We have power over our thoughts.  We have power over our victim mentality (even in the midst of stress, which is when it creeps in on me). We determine our actions. We have the power to shift our mindset.We have the power to live our values.

We have the power to master ourselves.  

 

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today.

Posted on September 13, 2015, in awakening the sleeping giant, Chris Locurto, Continued Growth, exercise, Life Purpose, Post LifePlan, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great post, Annie!
    So often, I find myself busy taking care of family that I forget to care for myself… and, when I do, I inevitably find that I’m out of control. Thanks for the great reminder!

    Like

Leave a Reply

