Life is Not on Pause

Health: it pushes in my brake pedal faster than anything else.

During my LifePlan event, I  was able to quickly identify the one thing that slows down my progress the most in life.  It was health.  This totally made sense to me as in my early twenties, I battled digestive issues that put me on anti-inflammatories, anti-depressants and caused a daily struggle in my life.  After a few years, I was able to overcome these issues (without any medication) and really go after life.

Between then and now, I’ve been an active and healthy person, eating right and an avid exerciser.

For the last two months, I have been diagnosed with degenerative disc disease and sleep apnea.  The last two months have been a physical challenge.  This is a challenge I am unfamiliar with and honestly causes me frustration. The degenerative disc disease has improved with a devoted additional hour of exercises daily, on top of my cardio work.  The improvement exists, but the journey continues with twice a week physical therapy.

I’ve recently learned the reason (we think!) for my lack of energy.  And, not the normal, I’m a working mother lack of energy.  It’s the, “It wears me out to walk up this set of stairs lack of energy.”   It’s going from being able to run 5-7 miles this summer to using every ounce of energy to squeeze out 30 minutes of cardio.  It’s not being able to sleep and waking up with muscles that are tired. One one shoulder, I hear, “this is so frustrating, I have things to do.”  Honestly, I if I let it, it ticks me off to no end. That’s the emotion.

I found myself saying today “My life is just on pause for a bit.  Health is the number one thing that slows me down if it’s not going well.”

But, immediately after that I thought,”Wait a minute.  That’s not the truth.  What’s the real perspective on this situation?”  The perspective is that life is not on pause.  Do I have to devote my energies to different things?  Of course.  Are some of my goals for the new year determined for me? Sure, they are.  (If I don’t continue the additional hour of exercises the symptoms return).  But, I believe with every ounce of who I am that there is a lesson in this struggle–a struggle I thought was ending a month ago.   Life is now.  I am living, breathing, learning and adding valuing to others (and myself) now.

To say that life is on pause diminishes the value the next several weeks hold for me. It’s an unexpected turn and one that is going to demand a strong mental attitude.  But, in the end, I will be better.  A better person.  A healthier person. A person with improved perspective.

Life is not on pause.

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today!

Posted on December 30, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

