“Mom, I am a coach.”

-Mom, I am a coach.-

I love birthdays and for one reason: they are an opportunity to celebrate the value others bring to the world.  A time to celebrate who they are and why they matter.

Tomorrow, we are celebrating our curly-haired, fun-loving little boy’s fifth birthday. As I took some quiet time tonight to reflect on who he is and the value I observe him add to the world, a scene came to mind.

We attended a friend’s barbecue this evening and there was a lively game of soccer in the backyard, with kids of various ages. As the game progressed, the older and more athletic kids dominated and Jonas (our son) clearly made a choice.  He stayed in the game and began encouraging Sam, the oldest boy among them.

“Way to go Sam!” he would say.  “Get a goal! Keep working hard!”

Jonas came over to me and said, “Mom, I’m a coach. I am coaching Sam.”

If we look beyond the immediate “cuteness” of this comment and think of it more deeply, it says a lot. Jonas is an encourager.  He sees the strengths of others and is excited by their hard work and accomplishments.  He cheers them on and screams in joyous excitement when they do something “good.”

I saw the value our son adds to the world tonight. And that makes me happy for him and those he impacts.  For is that not the reason why we’re here: to add value to the lives of others?

So, tomorrow, we celebrate Jonas as an encourager.  Someone who sees the talents and potential in others.  Someone who is a coach.

About Annie Palmer

Wife. Mother. Learner. Coach. Becoming better today than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today.

Posted on May 29, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

